We Are Not Without Power

boss-fight-free-high-quality-stock-images-photos-photography-man-walking-tracks-railway

My mind has been an abyss filled with racing, terrifying, unrelenting thoughts.

I have suffered for days and weeks at a time, unable to tame or quiet the lies that attempted to ensnare me.

I thought for sure that I’d never find the way out, and my cries for help seemed to be futile, and unheard.

But just last summer, this started to change for me.

I’ll write more in my next post about how I got to this point, but for now, I just want to write about how I was affected by this new way of thinking.

Quite simply, it started when I chose to think differently about my thoughts.

I had spent years trying to stuff them down, or control them so they didn’t create such anxiety in me.

But the more they raced, the harder it became to chase them away.

But when I got to this point, I realized something that caused a belief in me I had never known before:

“But God.”

My thoughts are fast… But God is faster.

My thoughts are terrifying… But God makes even the demons tremble.

My thoughts are relentless… But God doesn’t stop pursuing. Not even for death.

He never gave up on you and me. And because of the death and resurrection of Jesus, we share in His power.

You see, upon belief, we are given a Spirit; the Holy Spirit.

This Spirit is not a spirit of fear, but of power, of love, and of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7).

And when we have this Spirit, we are able to walk in it, rather than in our own inadequate, terrified, wavering flesh.

Remind yourself daily:

God, the One who has power over DEATH, has power over our minds and thoughts.

How can we live in terror when we understand that there is One who has such power to affect the way we think and live?

I believe He can shut the mouths of the lying lions in our minds.

I’m praying you will believe Him too.

Leave a comment