How I’m Feeling.

bossfight-free-stock-photos-man-garage-c-

Today, I feel what I think is how I experience depression.

I know anxiety like the back of my hand. But sometimes it’s a little harder to pinpoint what’s happening when I’m feeling like I am today.

Unmotivated.

Physically and emotionally tired.

Overwhelmed, and underwhelmed at the same time.

Suffocated, even though I’ve had above average opportunity all day to thrive.

I hate days like this.

But when these days come, I love being able to tell myself that they will pass.

I know a better day will come.

But this also got me thinking:

How many others out there who suffer with depression are not able to tell themselves this?

How many of us have been living like this for days, weeks, months, or even years on end, with no sign of relief?

Man, depression is crafty.

I’m so sorry for anyone who has an experience with depression that reaches so deeply into who you are, and succeeds at convincing you that your only identity is in that depression.

I may not have the same experience as someone who suffers chronically like this.

Sometimes I feel like my words are of lesser value because of this; but then again, maybe not.

Maybe I have enough empathy that I can have compassion, and also provide a point of view that reveals the light in your life, even if you can’t see it yourself.

“In all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.”

It’s in Romans, chapter 8. Read the rest of the chapter if you want some more of that light.

While thinking about all of this today, I was momentarily discouraged.

But this verse is what came to my mind.

I believe this is the way out.

Even if the depression doesn’t stop; even if you still feel the same way tomorrow.

We are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

Leave a comment